Beef Board Appointments Announced

US - Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack has announced 36 appointments to the Cattlemen's Beef Promotion and Research Board. All appointees will serve three-year terms beginning immediately.
calendar icon 11 March 2010
clock icon 2 minute read

"These appointees represent a cross section of the beef industry and I am confident that beef producers and importers of cattle, beef and beef products will be well served by them," said Mr Vilsack.

In 2009, according to USDA statistics, there were an estimated 950,000 farms with cattle representing approximately 93.7 million head of cattle at the beginning of 2010. Top producing states included Texas, Kansas, Nebraska, California and Oklahoma.

Newly appointed members representing cattle producers are: Barbara S. Jackson, Ariz.; Willem Bylsma, Calif.; Darrel C. Sweet, Calif.; Robert W. Buck, Colo.; Jeffrey L. Clausen, Iowa; Dean A. Black, Iowa; Daniel P. Herrmann, Kansas; Larry M. Olten, Kansas; Genevieve D. Lyons, Louisiana.; Andrew B. Salinas, Michigan; John C. Schafer, Minnesota; David M. McCormick, Missippi; Kevin H. Frankenbach, Montana; Kristy L. Lage, Nebraska; Judith A. Reece, Nebraska; Annalyn Settelmeyer, Nevada; Tamara A. Ogilvie, New Mexico; Ernest B. Harris, North Carolina; Thomas A. Woods, Oklahoma; James C. Kesler, South Carolina; Danni K. Beer, South Dakota; Linda J. Gilbert, South Dakota; Robert J. Reviere, Jr., Tenn.; Larry B. Pratt, Texas; Andrea W. Reed, Texas; D. Rudolph Tate, Texas; Bruce D. Dopslauf, Texas; Laurie L. Munns, Utah; Jane E. Clifford, Vermont; Larry D. Echols, West Virginia; Martin A. Andersen, Wisconsin; Randall A. Geiger, Wisconsin; and Spencer A. Ellis, Wyoming.

Newly appointed members representing importers are: Alberto J. Senosiain, Florida; Andrew Banchi, Pennsylvania; and Scott A. Hansen, Virginia. The Board oversees collection of $1-per-head on all cattle sold in the United States, and $1-per-head equivalent on imported cattle, beef and beef products. In addition, the Board contracts with established national, non-profit, industry-governed organisations to implement programs of promotion, research, consumer information, industry information, foreign marketing and producer communications.

The 106-member Board is authorized by the Beef Promotion and Research Act of 1985. The secretary selects the appointees nominated by beef, veal, dairy and importers certified organisations.

USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service oversees operations of the Board.

TheCattleSite News Desk

© 2000 - 2024 - Global Ag Media. All Rights Reserved | No part of this site may be reproduced without permission.