Golden Anniversary for Indiana Junior Angus Association

INDIANA, US - The Indiana Junior Angus Association (IJAA) recently celebrated its 50th anniversary. Officially founded 3 September 1959, the IJAA hosted its anniversary celebration in conjunction with its annual preview show.
calendar icon 15 July 2009
clock icon 2 minute read

The evening included families of the founding members, as well as past, present and future members and advisors.

“It was an awesome event with many memories shared. Many volunteers put long hours into making sure this milestone celebration will be remembered for years to come, and it was enjoyed by all in attendance, both young and old,” says Bryce Schumann American Angus Association® CEO, who was among those who celebrated the 50th anniversary of the third oldest state junior organization.

“Indiana Angus breeders and youth had the desire and foresight to create a structured junior organization 20 years prior to the National Junior Angus Association, and for that they are congratulated.”

It was the foresight of a committee of breeders comprised of three Indiana breeders who formed a Junior Activities Committee—C. M. Meade, Richard Kinsinger, and Charles Mauck, along with former American Angus Association activities director Dean Hurlbut who organized the IJAA, and about 40 junior members joined that first year. Founding junior members present at the celebration include Pat Meade Maiben, Leslie Carmichael, and Connie Shafer Long, and all are still active in the Angus business, and contribute to junior Angus programs in Indiana.

Former IJAA president Ray Shirley (1978-80) and former IJAA advisor Pam Lindamood (1993-98) coordinated the evening that recognized the dedication of the members and leaders of the IJAA during the past half-century. Special honorees including past juniors, advisors, officers, and NJAA Board members were asked to stand and be recognized as the events of the evening unfolded.

The past Angus royalty was honored, and the old leather sash beautifully framed for display was received by Julia Wickard to be hung in the Indiana Beef Cattle Association office. New sashes were donated in honor of Harriett McClarnon and worn by 2009 Indiana Angus royalty: Maddi Butler, junior princess; Lauren Jernas, princess; and Katelyn Wilson, queen.

An interactive, team trivia game was played with current IJAA President Garrett Knebel serving as the game show host. Tables worked together to answer historical IJAA trivia and send their answers to a computer remotely. The winning table answered 80-percent of the 20 questions correctly. Current junior members waited tables and passed out door prizes. According to those in attendance it will truly be an evening to remember.

TheCattleSite News Desk

© 2000 - 2023 - Global Ag Media. All Rights Reserved | No part of this site may be reproduced without permission.