Irish Beef Forum Members Announced

IRELAND - The Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Food, Mary Coughlan TD, announced today the membership of the Beef Forum. It will include representatives of the IFA, ICMSA, ICSA, Macra, ICOS, ICBF, Teagasc, Bord Bia, Enterprise Ireland, Meat Industry Ireland as well as representatives of the Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food and an independent expert.
calendar icon 12 February 2008
clock icon 2 minute read

Minister Coughlan stated: “The purpose of the Forum is to point the way to the future development of this very important sector. The beef industry is vital to Ireland in a number of respects not least its contribution to our trade balance and its significance for rural areas.

The industry has proven itself resilient in the past and I am confident that it will do so in the future. It will face many opportunities and challenges as the pace of change in the marketplace continues to increase. The industry must gear itself to evolving consumer tastes and be responsive to them. The Forum provides those involved in the industry with the opportunity to track the best way forward.”

The Forum, which will be chaired by Jim Beecher, Assistant Secretary General at the Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food, will have its first meeting later this month. The Minister thanked the representatives who had agreed to participate and wished them every success in their work. The Forum is expected to report by the Summer.

Members of the Beef Forum:

Jim Beecher Chairman
Kevin Kinsella IFA
Michael Doran IFA
John Enright ICMSA
Martin McMahon ICMSA
Malcolm Thompson ICSA
Sean Scully ICSA
Mark Connors Macra
Ray Doyle ICOS
Brian Wickham ICBF
Edward O'Riordan Teagasc
Gerard Brickley Bord Bia
Derek Breen Enterprise Ireland
Ciaran Fitzgerald Meat Industry Ireland
Niall Browne Meat Industry Ireland
John Horgan Meat Industry Ireland
Finbarr McDonnell Meat Industry Ireland
Paddy Moore Independent Expert
Mick Cronin Dept. of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food
Ignatius Byrne Meat Industry Ireland
Séamus O'Flaherty/Brid O'Higgins Secretariat

TheCattleSite News Desk

© 2000 - 2023 - Global Ag Media. All Rights Reserved | No part of this site may be reproduced without permission.